top of page

dystopic

by Eric Burgoyne


ghost guns

burner phones

stumbling

alone over

months


of disgust

vipers hiss

then shed

dead skin

as scales


of justice

frail old

bones ache

to bloom anew

despite it all


About the author:

Eric Burgoyne writes poetry from his home on the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii. He has an MA in Creative Writing - Poetry, from Teesside University, Middlesbrough England. His poems have appeared in The Dawntreader, Spillwords, Sledgehammer, Skink Beat Review, Rat’s Ass Review, and elsewhere.


More of Burgoyne's work, including Growth Spurt and Early Bloomer features in the first issue of Erato, Bloom.


Photo: Viper by Erato via Wombo

Related Posts

See All

I Am Your Daughter

I was afraid that all I would remember were snippets of me asking her, “Do you remember me still?"

bottom of page